Video Score


Score Reduction / Analysis

Fishing with a Friend

Flute, Clarinet, Piano, Harp, Strings  •  Grade 3  •  ca. 3:20

Fishing with
a Friend

Stephen Hill

Music Publishing




Print and PDF Information             

Print and PDF purchases will be prepared, printed, or emailed after your order has been processed. Scores and Parts will be branded with the licensing information specifying the sole use by the Purchaser, Director, School, Ensemble, or Organization purchasing the work. Please use the Add a Note option in the checkout cart to verify the branding information. With a licensed and branded Master Set of Parts, you will have permission to print as many copies of a part as needed for your specific school, ensemble, or organization. Permission to copy does not apply to the Score. PDF purchases should be available in 1-3 days.

Picture taken by my wife. (West Yellowstone) 

Order Form

Program Notes


Fishing with a Friend, was composed between June 12-18, 2015, during a fly fishing and camping trip at Indian Creek Campground in Yellowstone National Park in my little composing studio (tent) at campsite #73. I spent the early mornings and late evenings composing and the afternoons and early evenings fly fishing.


A musical impression, of an old Ouachita Baptist University (Arkadelphia, Arkansas) memory, of a lazy Saturday morning, spent fishing with a friend down on the bank of the river that ran behind the music building. 


The music is intentionally quiet, sentimental, and reflective of the sights, sounds, and gently blowing breeze surrounding the slow-moving current of the river.


This orchestration of the original Flute and Piano version was written for, and performed by, students of the Band and Orchestra Program of California High School in Whittier, Ca.

Composed - 2015

Publisher - SARAHTIM Music Publishing (Stephen Hill) ASCAP



Solo Flute

Solo Clarinet