top of page

Music for Violin

Stephen Hill


(Poem by Rudyard Kipling)

Violin and Piano

Screen Shot 2023-07-20 at 5.03.12 PM.png

SARAHTIM Music Publishing

If (An impression of the poem by Rudyard Kipling)
Violin and Piano / ca. 2:40
2007 / With energy and conviction q. = 80

00:00 / 02:36

Violin/Piano - Printed Score - $15.00

Violin/Piano - PDF Score - $12.00

Program Notes

Composed in 2007, If, was written at the request of Peter Alexander (Alexander Publishing)

and is part of a larger project of Solo Compositions written for each major instrument of the

Orchestra: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn in F, Trumpet, Trombone, Tuba, Violin, Viola,

Cello and Double Bass. The project consisted of composing music for specific poems chosen by

Peter that he felt reflected the character of each instrument.  For the Solo Trombone, the poem

assigned was If by Rudyard Kipling.


If by Rudyard Kipling

If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs and blaming it on you;

If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you, but make allowance for their doubting too;

If you can wait and not be tired by waiting, or being lied about, don’t deal in lies,

Or being hated, don’t give way to hating, and yet don’t look too good, not talk too wise:


If you can dream -- and not make dreams your master; if you can think -- and not make thoughts your aim;

If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster and treat those two imposters just the same;

If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,

Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken, and stoop and build ‘em up with worn-out tools;


If you  can make one heap of all your winnings and risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,

And lose, and start again at your beginnings and never breathe a word about your loss;

If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew to serve your turn long after they are gone,

And so hold on when there is nothing in you except the Will which says to them: “Hold on!”


If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue, or walk with kings -- nor lose the common touch,

If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you, if all men count with you, but none too much;

If you can fill the unforgiving minute with sixty seconds’ worth of distance run --

Yours is the earth and everything that’s in it, and -- which more -- you’ll be a Man, my Son!

Dr. Kenneth Meints - Trombone 
Anne Madison - Piano

Stephen Hill

Scenes from West

Yellowstone Suite

Violin and Piano


SARAHTIM Music Publishing

Scenes from West Yellowstone Suite
Violin and Piano / ca. 9:20 / 
2017 / Six Movements

Program Notes

Scenes from West Yellowstone was composed between June 10-12, 2017, while on a solo fly fishing and camping trip at Indian Creek Campground, West Yellowstone, Wyoming. This work was composed to be playable by each of the instruments of the Band and Orchestral families. The solo melodic material uses only the notes of a one-octave major scale, yet each movement intentionally increases in technical demands of the player. Each movement is reflective of actual encounters while on vacation in Yellowstone Park.


1st mvt. - Meadows along the Madison 

(Walking through the meadows on the way down to fly fish along the banks of the Madison River)

2nd mvt. - Prairie Dogs 

(Watching two prairie dogs scurrying nearby while fly fishing)

3rd mvt. - Snowfall at Indian Creek 

(Yes, it actually snowed on me in the campground in June)

4th mvt. - Birds in the Meadow

(Watching the birds flitting about me as they suddenly turned about in all directions)

5th mvt. - A Deer in the Rain

(Watching the deer quietly walking near the river in a gentle rain)

6th mvt. - Fly Fishing for Browns on the Madison

(Casting the line back and forth, watching the “fly” gently land on the top of the water, t

hen the sudden splash of the beautiful brown trout as it takes the fly.)

00:00 / 09:17

Violin/Piano Printed Score - $18.00